CAB - Membership

Paul is NERC's chief operating officer. Before joining NERC in 2010, he has held several senior public sector finance roles, being previously divisional director of finance at Bath & NE Somerset Council, director of finance at Lewisham College, and assistant director of education (resources) at Hertfordshire County Council.

Paul has also worked as a consultant and interim manager in the local government and further education sectors and was senior director subnational ratings at Fitch, managing credit ratings for subnational government entities outside the UK. Paul has an MA in modern history & economics from Balliol College, Oxford and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance & Accountancy.

Nigel is NERC's Director of Major Projects.

Shaun is UK Research & Innovation Finance Business Partner.

Phil is interim Director of Research & Innovation

Tanya is UK Research & Innovation HR Business Partner.

After graduating from the University of Leeds in 1979 and receiving his PhD from the University of Bath in 1984, Duncan joined University College London. At UCL he held lecturing posts at the Mullard Space Science Laboratory and the Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering.

He was appointed as a chair in the Department of Space & Climate Physics, and was head of the Department of Earth Sciences at UCL from 2005-2010.

He was founder and director of the NERC Centre for Polar Observation & Modelling (CPOM) from 2000-2005, which discovered the widespread mass loss from the West Antarctic Ice Sheet and its origin in accelerated ocean melting.

He was chairman of the NERC Science & Innovation Strategy Board (SISB) and from 2000, the lead investigator of the ESA CryoSat and CryoSat-2 satellite missions.

Duncan became Chief Executive of the Natural Environment Research Council on 1 January 2012.

  • Jane Francis, British Antarctic Survey
  • Mark Bailey, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
  • Stephen Mobbs, NERC Centre for Atmospheric Sciences
  • John Remedios, NERC Centre for Earth Observation
  • Ed Hill, National Oceanography Centre