Scoping group membership

The scoping group membership for the new area for a potential large-scale strategic research investment for 2019 is:

Securing UK forest form, function, and ecosystem services against 21st-century pressures

  • Dr Nick Atkinson, Woodland Trust
  • Professor Ian Bateman, University of Exeter
  • Dr Stephen Cavers, NERC Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
  • Professor David Coomes, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Holly Croft, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Darren Evans, Newcastle University
  • Dr Diana Feliciano, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Jaboury Ghazoul, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor John Healy, Bangor University
  • Dr Keith Kirby, University of Oxford
  • Professor Yadvinder Malhi, University of Oxford (Chair)
  • Professor Liz Shaw, University of Reading
  • Professor Stephen Sitch, University of Exeter
  • Professor Nicola Spence, DEFRA
  • Mr Simon Toomer, National Trust
  • Dr Elena Vanguelova, Forest Research

The scoping group membership for the two new areas for potential large-scale strategic research investments for 2018 were:

Earth system plastics

  • Professor Jonathan Adams, Cranfield University
  • Alice Horton, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
  • Professor Stefan Krause, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Richard Lampitt, National Oceanography Centre
  • Professor Daniel Parsons, University of Hull (Chair)
  • Dr Oliver Price, Reckitt Benckiser
  • Professor Anthony Ryan, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Kate Spencer, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Richard Thompson, University of Plymouth

Transforming fractures – Exploration of the deep ocean highways

  • Dr Kerry Howell, Plymouth University
  • Dr Alan Jamieson, Newcastle University
  • Professor Christopher MacLeod, Cardiff University (Chair)
  • Professor Jason Morgan, Royall Holloway, University of London
  • Dr Bramley Murton, National Oceanography Centre
  • Dr Uisdean Nicolson, Heriot-Watt University
  • Professor Christine Peirce, Durham University
  • Dr David Smeed, National Oceanography Centre

Reducing uncertainty in climate sensitivity due to clouds

  • Professor Ken Carslaw, University of Leeds
  • Dr Paulo Ceppi, University of Reading
  • Professor Mat Collins, University of Exeter
  • Dr Jonathan Crosier, University of Manchester/National Centre for Atmospheric Science
  • Professor Jonathan Gregory, University of Reading/Met Office
  • Professor Joanna Haigh, Imperial College London (Chair)
  • Dr Alison Stirling, Met Office
  • Dr Matthias Tesche, University of Hertfordshire
  • Professor Geraint Vaughan, National Centre for Atmospheric Science