Judging panel for the NERC Impact Awards revealed

14 May 2018

With just one week left for applications to the NERC 2018 Impact Awards, we can reveal the experts who will be assessing the applications for the awards.

2018 Impact Awards - from research to our lives

The awards will celebrate and reward NERC-funded researchers, as individuals or teams, whose work has had substantial impact on the economy and society either in the UK or abroad.

After eligibility checks, all applications will be scrutinised by our shortlisting panel, which includes senior scientists and representatives from the Natural History Museum, Nestlé and the Parliamentary Office of Science & Technology. They will select the two strongest applications against each of the three categories to be the finalists, which will be announced in July.

The finalists will be reviewed by a judging panel including Lord Deben and Professor Alice Roberts, with the winners unveiled at an awards ceremony in London in December at the Natural History Museum. The event will showcase the researchers, their work and the impact of the science which NERC funds.

Shortlisting panel

  • Dr Peter Costigan, Environmental Consultant - Chair
  • Dr Alexandra Burch, Head of Visitor Experience, Learning & Outreach, Natural History Museum
  • Scott Cain, former Executive Director & Chief Business Officer, Future Cities Catapult
  • Andy Griffiths, Sustainability Manager, Nestlé
  • Paul Hayden OBE, Chair of the Anglian Eastern Regional Flood & Coastal Committee
  • Dr Phil Heads, Associate Director, Futures, Strategy & Evidence, NERC
  • Professor David Hogg, Professor of Artificial Intelligence, University of Leeds
  • Professor Iain Stewart, Director of the Sustainable Earth Institute, University of Plymouth
  • Dr Lesley Thompson MBE, Director of Academic and Government Strategic Alliances, UK, Elsevier
  • Dr David Viner, Global Practice Leader - Climate Resilience, Mott McDonald
  • Dr Johnny Wentworth, Environment Adviser, Parliamentary Office of Science & Technology
  • Professor Lesley Yellowlees, Professor of Organic Electrochemistry, University of Edinburgh

Judging panel

  • Dr Peter Costigan, Environmental Consultant - Chair
  • Judith Batchelar, Director of Sainsbury's Brand, Sainsbury's
  • Juliet Davenport OBE, Chief Executive, Good Energy Group
  • The Rt Hon The Lord Deben PC, Chairman, Committee on Climate Change, House of Lords
  • Professor Michael Depledge CBE, Professor of Environment & Human Health, University of Exeter Medical School
  • Dr Phil Heads, Associate Director, Futures, Strategy & Evidence, NERC
  • Gordon McGregor, Managing Director, Spot Sensor Technologies Ltd and NERC Council member
  • Professor Alice Roberts, Professor of Public Engagement in Science, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Julia Fentem, Vice President for Sustainability & Environment, Unilever [added 18 June 2018]

Further information

Jo Thompson
Head of Communications Campaigns


1. Award categories:

  • Economic Impact Award
    Recognising research that has led to demonstrable economic benefit.

  • Societal Impact Award
    Recognising research that has led to demonstrable social, cultural, public policy or service, health, environmental or quality of life benefits.

  • Early Career Impact Award
    Recognising an early career researcher who has achieved demonstrable economic and/or societal impact.

The category winner judged to have had the greatest impact will be selected to receive the Overall Impact Award.

The winner of each category will receive £10,000 and the runner-up £5,000, to further the impacts of their research. The Overall Impact Award winner will receive an additional £30,000.

For application details, please see the NERC 2018 Impact Awards page.

The closing date for applications is 12:00 on Monday 21 May 2018.