Doctoral Training Partnerships 2

Through Doctoral Training Partnerships 2 (DTP2), funding for 235 notional studentships was awarded for the 2019-20 academic year. DTP awards are for five annual cohort intakes that start from October 2019.

This funding supports the students' stipends, fees and research training support grant, and allows for training opportunities to develop the technical skills, professional skills and experience of students at each DTP. Each DTP must ensure, over the five years of student starts, that 25% of their total NERC funded studentships are CASE (collaborative) studentships.

NERC DTPs award studentships on behalf of NERC and the DTPs themselves should be contacted for all studentship queries. The DTPs oversee the entire process of awarding PhD studentships and award studentships at their own discretion.

Please do not contact NERC for information concerning applying for studentships.

Partnerships holding NERC DTP2 funding

DTP name DTP administrative lead organisation Hosting partners Name of lead applicant Notional number of studentships for 2019-20
IAPETUS2 - external link Durham University University of Glasgow, Heriot-Watt University, Newcastle University, University of St Andrews, University of Stirling, British Antarctic Survey (BAS), British Geological Survey (BGS), Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH) Professor John Wainwright 16
SSCP - external link Imperial College London BGS, CEH, Natural History Museum (NHM), Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Zoological Society of London (ZSL) Professor Martin Siegert 14
ENVISION - external link Lancaster University Bangor University, University of Nottingham, BGS, CEH, Rothamsted Research Professor Nicholas Ostle 13
ONE Planet - NERC DTP2 - external link Newcastle University Northumbria University Professor Hayley Fowler 12
London DTP2 - external link University College London Birkbeck University of London, Brunel University London, Institute of Zoology, King's College London, NHM, Queen Mary University of London, Royal Holloway University of London Professor Mark Maslin 13
QUADRAT - external link University of Aberdeen Queens University Belfast Professor Graeme Paton 12
CENTA2 - external link University of Birmingham University of Leicester, University of Warwick, The Open University, Loughborough University, Cranfield University, National Centre for Earth Observation (NCEO), BGS, National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS), CEH Dr Gregor Leckebusch 18
GW4+ DTP2 - external link University of Bristol University of Bath, Cardiff University, University of Exeter, BAS, BGS, CEH, Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML), NHM Professor Paul Valdes 12
C-CLEAR - external link University of Cambridge BAS Professor Marian Holness 12
ARIES - external link University of East Anglia University of Essex, University of Kent, University of Plymouth, Royal Holloway University of London, BAS, BGS, British Trust for Ornithology, CEH, Earlham Institute, Institute of Zoology, ZSL, John Innes Centre, Marine Biological Association (MBA), PML Professor William Sturges 12
E4 - external link University of Edinburgh BGS, CEH, Scottish Association for Marine Science, Scotland's Rural College, Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre, National Museum Scotland Professor Simon Mudd 18
PANORAMA - external link University of Leeds University of York, University of Hull Dr Sebastian Rost 13
ACCE - external link University of Liverpool University of Sheffield, University of York, CEH, NHM Professor Andy Fenton 14
Doctoral Training Partnership in Environmental Research - external link University of Oxford None Dr Elizabeth Jeffers 16
SCENARIO - external link University of Reading University of Surrey, BGS, CEH, NCAS, NCEO, ZSL Dr Nicolas Bellouin 12
SUPER - external link University of St Andrews University of Aberdeen, Edinburgh Napier University, Heriot-Watt University, University of the Highlands & Islands, Stirling University, Strathclyde University, University of the West of Scotland Professor David Paterson 12
INSPIRE - external link University of Southampton National Oceanography Centre, BAS, NHM, MBA Professor Martin Palmer 16
Total: 235