Safety management and contacts

NERC contacts

NERC corporate health & safety advisor (for advice and information on NERC corporate health and safety issues):

Bill Dark
01793 411596
07864 944752

Management of health & safety

NERC Safety Management Group (SMG) consists of the full-time safety professionals across NERC and related research centres. NERC Safety Management Team (SMT) membership includes the senior appointed managers with responsibility for health and safety across NERC and related research Centres. NERC Health and Safety Committee membership includes SMT members, Trade Union appointed safety representatives from NERC and related research centres, and appointees from SMG and NERC Welfare. Overall responsibility for health and safety lies with the NERC Executive Chair.

Executive Chair
Duncan Wingham

NERC Management Board director with responsibility for health and safety
Nigel Bird, Chief, Chief Operations Officer
Chair Safety Management Team (SMT) / NERC Safety Committee

Council safety advisor
Bill Dark

Trainer / auditor
Chris Milne

Dangerous goods safety adviser
Stuart Heron

Nerc Research centre contacts

Head Office

Director - Nigel Bird

British Antarctic Survey

Director - Jane Francis
SMT member - Simon Garrod
Safety advisor - Jennifer Forster Davidson ()

British Geological Survey

Director - Karen Hanghoj
SMT member - Mike Patterson
Safety advisor - James Corbett
Union Side representative - Dave Morgan () and Kevin Greally ()

Trade unions

Union Side chair for NERC Safety Committee - Dave Morgan ()